Not All Salads are Created Equal

Salad

When it comes to salad, it has become one of my favorite lunches of all time. Sounds kind of weird, but there are endless opportunities of things to put in them that one could have a different salad every day and not one would taste the same.

In the past, I used to think that going to a salad bar was healthy in and of itself as opposed to ordering a burger or other entree.  In reality my choice was iceberg lettuce, a large scoop of bacon bits, croutons and cheese and doused in ranch dressing. There is little nutritional value in that, I was better off ordering a burger I think!!!

It has taken a while but I have learned to choose greens that have antioxidants and vitamins such as: Spinach, arugula or kale. Choose a variety of colors of fruits or vegetables. Get creative! add different nuts, seeds or healthy fats, avocado, a hard-boiled egg etc. So we have chosen ingredients to our salad and now what? Time to choose the dressing. I have started to really enjoy making my own! I can pronounce each and every ingredient, I can choose things that are not full of fake ingredients and my salad remains truly “healthy” and it does not take long at all. Here are a few of my most recent favorite dressing recipes. Try some out and let me know what you think! (I apologize in advance that I do not do well with measurements, it takes some trial and error and you should modify to your taste)


Cilantro Lime:

  • 1c cilantro – chopped
  • 1/2c plain greek yogurt
  • 2T lime juice
  • 1-2 garlic cloves – finely chopped
  • 3T olive oil
  • 1 1/2 t white wine vinegar
  • 1/8t salt
  • 1/2t cumin (if you like a little kick)

Stir together, lasts in the refrigerator about 4-5 days

I love this dressing with chopped romaine lettuce, corn, cherry tomatoes, black beans, green onion and bell peppers


Raspberry Vinaigrette:

  • In my magic bullet I added –
  • 1/2 handfull of raspberries
  • 1/3 c red wine vinegar
  • 2T EVOO
  • small drizzle of honey

blend and store in the refrigerator for up to 1 week

(I love this with a strawberry, walnut, feta cheese, red onion and spinach salad)


Basil Avocado:

  • 1/2c fresh basil leaves
  • 1 avocado
  • 2T EVOO
  • 1/2t Himalayan Sea Salt
  • 1/8t ground black pepper
  • 1/2t fresh minced garlic
  • 1T lemon juice
  • add milk to desired consistency (I use plain unsweetened almond milk)

This one is good with any kind of greens and chicken

Mix together and store in the refrigerator for 2-3 days


Balsamic Vinaigrette:

This dressing can be tailored in any way to your preference!

It can be as easy as drizzling Balsamic Vinegar and EVOO over your salad with a shake of pepper or you could mix the ingredients together along with some

  • dijon mustard
  • garlic
  • a pinch of salt

This dressing is good on any salad. For a lighter version, use 1/2 water, 1/2 EVOO. I also enjoy using it as a marinade for chicken and veggies that I will cook on the grill or roast in the oven!

Do you have any favorite recipes to add? I would love to hear your suggestions and am always looking to try something new! Happy cooking friends 🙂

-Myrtyce

Leave a Reply

