To squash or not to squash?

Once the summer months are over and the fruits and vegetables that were in season start to become expensive, I try to figure out how to cook healthy food that is going to be less expensive for the winter season. I have such a hard time with this!! I love summer foods so much more. To be honest, I don’t even know what is somewhat locally in season in the winter. Are you with me?

Just a few days ago my sister sent me this acorn squash recipe that I just have to try. I usually just stick to spaghetti squash used instead of pasta when squash is an option and am not a fan of squash that just looks like it came out of a baby food jar. See the recipe below, what do you think? Would you try this? Any other suggestions on winter vegetable recipes are greatly appreciated!!

Acorn squash.png

You will need:

1 acorn squash

1/2 large sweet onion

1 can black beans

1 can rotel

garlic powder

chili powder

parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees – cut acorn squash in half, scoop out seeds and place on cookie sheet. Bake for 45 minutes.

While squash is baking, chop up 1/2 sweet onion and one bell pepper

Sautee onion and pepper in a drizzle of olive oil until onion is translucent, add one can of black beans (rinsed and drained), one can of rotel, garlic powder and chili powder to taste until all is cooked through.

Once squash is cooked, place mixture inside of the squash halves and top with cheese. bake for another 15 minutes – let cool and enjoy!

makes 2-4 servings

I am going to try this recipe this weekend now that the weather is colder. If you try it, comment below and let me know what you think!

Stay warm fit friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

